Our Senior Leaders

The Senior Leadership Team (or SLT) is made up of the Principal and two Deputy Principals. They collectively oversee the running of all aspects of school life.

While the division of labour is split between senior school (yrs 11-13) and junior (yrs 9-10) with each DP taking charge of an area, all three of the SLT work collaboratively to meet the needs of students, teachers and the wider school community.

Lyndsay Kurth.jpg

Traci Liddall

Principal ~ Tumuaki

pa@otocoll.school.nz

Vanessa Te Huia

Deputy Principal Junior

tehuiav@otocoll.school.nz

Lyndsay Kurth

Deputy Principal Senior

kurthl@otocoll.school.nz

Department  and Faculty Leaders

HOD = Head of Department  

HOF = Head of Faculty

20210204_075718.jpg

Linda Campbell

HOF Gateway & Pathways

campbelll@otocoll.school.nz

Ram Chetty

HOF Technology, Wood

chettyr@otocoll.school.nz

Stoffel Wilken

HOD Maths

wilkens@otocoll.school.nz

Rebecca Rapley

HOF Languages, English

rapleyr@otocoll.school.nz 

Fiona Parsons

HOF Arts, Music, Performance,

Year 13 Dean

parsonsf@otocoll.school.nz

Leighton Parsons

HOD PE & Health,

Year 10 Dean

parsonsl@otocoll.school.nz

Diane Pemberton

HOD Science,

Chemistry

Vianni Ward

HOD Social Sciences,

Accounting, Business Studies

wardv@otocoll.school.nz

Board of Trustees

Kia ora e te whaanau.

Thank you for taking the time to visit the Otorohanga College's Board of Trustees (BOT) section on the College website. Trusteeship on a school BOT is a challenging and rewarding role, and one that allows a community's voice and aspirations to determine the future of a school through its Charter and Strategic Planning. Trustees hold their positions on the BOT with pride.

The following explains a little about the general purpose of the BOT.

The BOT is responsible for four key areas of governance:

  • Accountability:  Student progress and achievement, review, financial monitoring and resource management.​

  • Leadership:  Governance model, clear purpose, roles and responsibilities, effective meetings and relationships.

  • Employer Role:  Good employer, performance management system, effective relationships, health and safety and recruitment.​

  • Representation:  Community consultation and engagement, board consultation, trust and relationships.

The BOT is also responsible for:

  • Developing and reviewing the school charter

  • Monitoring and reviewing Ōtorohanga College’s progress

  • Putting in place a policy framework

  • Employing the principal

  • Managing assets

  • Ensuring legal compliance

  • Implementing National Education Guidelines​

The above areas of governance and responsibility ensure a framework for school operations which fosters safety, equity, transparency and accountability.  

Our current BOT is made up of the following people and their respective roles:

  • Mark Pitts-Brown - Chairperson, Parent Trustee, Hostel Liaison

  • Traci Liddall - Principal

  • Emily O'Reilly - Student Trustee

  • Chris van der Heyden - Staff Trustee​​

  • Lorraine Fox - Deputy Chair, Parent Trustee,

  • Michael Ritch - Parent Trustee

Mark Pitts-Brown
BOT Chairperson
 

The next triennial elections will take place in 2022 and all BOT's will be looking for skilled, community minded and big picture thinkers to sign up. You can find out more about trusteeship and the role of the BOT here:

Thank you for choosing Otorohanga College, your community College.

Chris van der Heyden

Staff Trustee

Emily O'Reilly BOT Rep.jpg
Lorraine%20Fox_edited.jpg
Traci%20Liddall_edited.jpg

Emily O'Reilly

Student Trustee

Chris

van der Heyden

Board Member

Lorraine Fox

Deputy Chair

Traci Liddall

Principal ~ Tumuaki

Michael Ritch

Board Member

Mark Pitts-Brown

Board Chair

Erin Baker

Social Sciences, Maths, History, Agri/Business

bakere@otocoll.school.nz

Teaching Staff

Lyndsay Kurth

English

kurthl@otocoll.school.nz

Lynn  Donaldson

Food Technology

donaldsonl@otocoll.school.nz

Jennifer Roughton

Science

roughtonj@otocoll.school.nz

Nikita Dorne

PE & Health, Food Technology

Yr 11 Dean

dornen@otocoll.school.nz

Areta Kahura

Junior Learning Programme

PE, Yr 9 Dean

kahuraa@otocoll.school.nz

Karen Flay

English, Junior Learning Programme, Media 

flayk@otocoll.school.nz

Kristen Flay

PE & Health

Yr 12 Dean

flayk1@otocoll.school.nz

Mauricia Hawira

Te Reo Māori

hawiram@otocoll.school.nz

Lynda McCann

Science, Biology

Mccannl@otocoll.school.nz

Janene Allison

English, Science, Junior Learning Programme

allisonj@otocoll.school.nz

Jacqui Wallace

Digital Technologies, Junior Learning Programme, Performing Arts

ICT Lead Teacher

wallacej@otocoll.school.nz

David Grey

Art, Photography

greyd@otocoll.school.nz

Lacosta Hayward

PE & Health, Specialist Classroom Teacher

haywardl@otocoll.school.nz

Brendon Mudge

Maths

mudgeb@otocoll.school.nz

Greg Howitt

Science, Technology

howittg@otocoll.school.nz

Hostel Manager

Roy & CarolineWillison

Hostel Managers

willisonr@otocoll.school.nz

Hostel Staff

Dom Fortis

Jayne Fortis

Dawn Winikerei

Kelly Hemara

Peata Kakau

Sports Coordinator

kakaup@otocoll.school.nz

Jenny Edwards

Youth Mentor

edwardsj@otocoll.school.nz

Jenny Whitehead

Learning Support Coordinator

whiteheadj@otocoll.school.nz

Caroline Willison

Office Admin

admin@otocoll.school.nz

Other Staff

Annelies Black

Librarian

Keita Pedersen

Science Technician

Louise Sowerby

Counsellor

sowerbyl@otocoll.school.nz

Seilala Makasale

Principal's PA

pa@otocoll.school.nz

Ngaire Te Kanawa

Property Cleaning

Chris

van der Heyden

Caretaker / Grounds person

Donna Hemara

Michelle Carr

Carol Fleming

Learning Support

Melissa Grey

Jacqui Fitzgerald

We’d love to hear from you

Whether you have a question about our school, curriculum, facilities, sports, enrolment, need a tour, or anything else, our team is ready to answer all your questions.

  • Facebook
  • Facebook
  • Facebook
  • Facebook

Bledisloe Avenue

Otorohanga 3900

07 873 8029

07 873 7414

© 2020 by Otorohanga College

logo_big_K.png