Lyndsay Kurth.jpg

Our Senior Leaders

The Senior Leadership Team (or SLT) is made up of the Principal and two Deputy Principals. They collectively oversee the running of all aspects of school life.

All three of the SLT work collaboratively to meet the needs of students, teachers and the wider school community.


Lyndsay Kurth

Acting Principal ~ Tumuaki

Vanessa Te Huia

Deputy Principal 


Leighton Parsons

Acting Deputy Principal 


Yr 11 Dean

Department  and Faculty Leaders

HOD = Head of Department  

HOF = Head of Faculty


Ram Chetty

HOF Technology, Wood

Stoffel Wilken

HOD Maths

Romano Manuel

HOF Languages, English 

Fiona Parsons

HOF Arts, Music, Performance,

Year 13 Dean

Lacosta Hayward

Acting HOD PE & Health,

Year 9 Dean

Diane Pemberton

HOD Science,


Year 11 Girls Dean

Vianni Ward

HOD Social Sciences,

Accounting, Business Studies

Board of Trustees

Kia ora e te whaanau.

Thank you for taking the time to visit the Otorohanga College's Board of Trustees (BOT) section on the College website. Trusteeship on a school BOT is a challenging and rewarding role, and one that allows a community's voice and aspirations to determine the future of a school through its Charter and Strategic Planning. Trustees hold their positions on the BOT with pride.

The following explains a little about the general purpose of the BOT.

The BOT is responsible for four key areas of governance:

  • Accountability:  Student progress and achievement, review, financial monitoring and resource management.​

  • Leadership:  Governance model, clear purpose, roles and responsibilities, effective meetings and relationships.

  • Employer Role:  Good employer, performance management system, effective relationships, health and safety and recruitment.​

  • Representation:  Community consultation and engagement, board consultation, trust and relationships.

The BOT is also responsible for:

  • Developing and reviewing the school charter

  • Monitoring and reviewing Ōtorohanga College’s progress

  • Putting in place a policy framework

  • Employing the principal

  • Managing assets

  • Ensuring legal compliance

  • Implementing National Education Guidelines​

The above areas of governance and responsibility ensure a framework for school operations which fosters safety, equity, transparency and accountability.  

Our current BOT is made up of the following people and their respective roles:

  • Duncan Coull - Chairperson, Parent Trustee

  • Jaimee Tamaki - Parent Trustee

  • Traci Liddall - Principal

  • Emily O'Reilly - Student Trustee

  • Chris van der Heyden - Staff Trustee​​

  • Kim Ingham -  Parent Trustee

  • Michael Ritch - Parent Trustee

  • Monica Clark - Secretary

BOT Chairperson

The next triennial elections will take place in 2022 and all BOT's will be looking for skilled, community minded and big picture thinkers to sign up. You can find out more about trusteeship and the role of the BOT here:

Thank you for choosing Otorohanga College, your community College.

Lyndsay Kurth.jpg

Board of Trustees


Lyndsay Kurth

Acting Principal ~ Tumuaki

Michael Ritch

Board Member

Kim Ingham

Presiding Member

Chris van der Heyden

Staff Trustee


Duncan Coull

Presiding Member

Jaimee Tamaki

Board Member

Chloe Cawte

Student Trustee


van der Heyden

Board Member

Erin Baker

Social Sciences, Maths, History, Agri/Business

Teaching Staff

Lynn  Donaldson

Food Technology

Jennifer Roughton


Nikita Dorne

PE & Health, Food Technology

Yr 12 Dean

Areta Kahura

Junior Learning Programme

PE, Yr 10 Dean

Karen Flay

English, Junior Learning Programme, Media


Te Reo Māori

Lynda McCann

Science, Biology

Janene Allison

English, Science, Junior Learning Programme

Jacqui Wallace

Digital Technologies, Junior Learning Programme, Performing Arts

ICT Lead Teacher

David Grey

Art, Photography

Brendon Mudge


Greg Howitt

Science, Technology

Hostel Manager

Roy & CarolineWillison

Hostel Managers

Hostel Staff

Dom Fortis

Jayne Fortis

Dawn Winikerei

Peata Kakau

Sports Coordinator

Jenny Edwards

Youth Mentor

Jenny Whitehead

Learning Support Coordinator

Caroline Willison

Office Admin

Other Staff

Annelies Black


Keita Pedersen

Science Technician


van der Heyden

Caretaker / Grounds person

Seilala Makasale

Principal's PA

Ngaire Te Kanawa

Property Cleaning

Lisa Koppens
Finance Officer

Jackson Willison

Thrive Mentor

Te Taki Ruarau

Thrive Mentor

Michelle Carr

Learning Support

Melissa Grey

Jacqui Fitzgerald